ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. It indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,000 leading business and management publications and over 6,800 journals in total, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the United States. More than 80% of the articles are available in full-text or full-image.
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
ENHANCED! THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! Indexes over 13,000 publications, including 12,000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles for over 4,000 journals.
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
This most comprehensive index to journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and other documents in the field of agriculture (1970-present). Abstracts are provided for some of the indexed items.
Technical Papers: we have access to Technical Papers from 1988-2008 only. Journals: we have access to the following four journals from 2006- present · AIAA journal · Journal of aircraft · Journal of guidance, control, and dynamics · Journal of spacecraft and rockets
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
The American Chemical Society (ACS) offers unlimited web access to its complete online collection of 30 journal titles. The full-text journals are in standard Internet formats (HTML, PDF) and also include images. As of Jan. 2012, C&EN Online is not included in our subscription.
Presents the American Institute of Physics, a not-for-profit membership corporation which aims to promote the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its appliction to human welfare. Offers links to AIP publications, publishing servcies and links to other societs and WWW resources, and employment opportunities.
A good index to search for information on architects/designers, design firms, and building types or categories (1982-1988 available in Free Area).
Art & Architecture Complete (tm) is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of more than 250 periodicals and 150 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to- cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
ARTstor is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. View a list of publications included. You'll find journals from 1998 forward and all other ASABE technical publications from 2001 to current. Tips. Select a document type from the pull-down menu above and/or check one or more of the boxes to narrow your search. Entering a two-word term results in a search for either word. This is appropriate when the Keyword or Title box is checked. When searching the complete document, entering the word NEAR between the words results in a search for the complete term-- swine NEAR housing looks for the term swine housing. If you see boxes and ?? where there should be special characters, go to your toolbar View/Encoding and change setting to Western European.
The ASCE Research Library provides you with access to more than 90,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
ASM Materials Information consists of four main content areas: ASM Handbooks Online, featuring the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys. ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 2500 micrographs for industrially important alloys. ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with over 1000 case histories and authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods. In addition, the ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center provides access to more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.
ASTM International, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. Today, some 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Beginning July 1, 2012, access to the Avery Index will be provided exclusively through EBSCO. The Avery Index provides specialized search capability for architectural articles spanning from the 1930s to the 2010s, also covering related topics such as landscape architecture and city planning. It is especially useful in helping to track down plans, sections, elevations, details and other technical images.
BBC Television Shakespeare is a series of British television adaptations of the plays of William Shakespeare, produced in the United Kingdom and originally aired between 1978 to 1985. All 37 productions are available here, using traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time (1564 to 1616) or in the period of the events depicted (such as ancient Rome for Julius Caesar) and featuring many of the most renowned Shakespearean actors.
BAS provides citations to Western-language journal articles that deal with the countries and civilizations of East, Southeast and South Asia or with the overseas Asian communities in North America, Europe and elsewhere in the world. Coverage begins in 1971. Book citations are available from 1971-1991. Users looking for books published since 1992 should consult LINK+, Melvyl, or WorldCAT.
This database, funded and hosted by the Getty Museum,includes records from both the Bibliography of the History of Art (coverage from 1990-2007), and the International Bibliography of Art (coverage from 2008-2009). The Répertoire de la litterature de l’art, with coverage from 1975-1989, is scheduled to be included in this database in May 2010.
BioMed Central is a an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of over 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans a range of disciplines across the biomedical field - from basic life sciences to clinical medicine. Articles may be searched by journal or article title, or via a subject area search.
World's most comprehensive life sciences database. It combines the journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal content from Biological Abstracts/RRM.
This database provides scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird's songs and calls selected from the collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. Includes also an extensive bibliography for each species.
The full range of tax information includes expert analysis from tax professionals integrated into a database of primary and secondary source materials that includes the Internal Revenue Code, tax regulations, federal tax cases and court decisions, current legislation, tax treaties, and federal and state tax forms. Also includes journal articles and working papers, and weekly updates of news and developments.
Database to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
Business Expert Press provides eBooks covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
The Business Research Portal provides easy access to a wide range of business resources available through the Robert E. Kennedy Library. The Portal offers in-depth help on a variety of business topics including company information and rankings, market share, industry ratios/overviews, international trade data, economic indicators, case studies, HHI, SEC filings, and much more!
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,200 journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
CAB Abstracts® is one of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources
CAB eBooks cover such topics as animal and veterinary sciences, agricultural economics and rural studies, environmental sciences, plant sciences, human health and nutrition, and leisure and tourism studies.
Select NewsBank California Newspaper Package from the menu. A full-text collection of major dailies and regional papers. Beginning date of coverage varies from newspaper to newspaper. The newspapers may be searched individually or in groups.
Comprehensive tax and accounting research database covering tax and accounting laws and news on the international, federal, state and local levels. Provides access to a variety of primary sources, analysis, journals, news, cases, and rulings.
Chemistry Central is an open access publisher in chemistry (and part of the BioMed Central group) with a portfolio of 6 journals: Chemistry Central Journal (general); Journal of Cheminformatics; Journal of Systems Chemistry; Geochemical Transactions (official journal of the Geochemistry Division of the American Chemical Society); Heritage Science; and Sustainable Chemical Processes. The Chemistry Central portal does display chemistry-related articles from relevant BioMed Central and Springer Open journals, as well as content from its own journals; and also lists journals published by BioMed Central and Springer Open which may publish chemistry-related content.
The Chicano Database is a comprehensive index to information about Mexican Americans/Chicanos in a variety of publications dating from the 1960s to the present. The broader Latino experience has been included since 1992. Updated quarterly.
Includes searchable database of reviews issued in the print magazine Choice since September, 1988.
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on.
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains: Author Affiliations Searchable Cited References Research Instruments Evidence-Based Care Sheets Quick Lessons & Search Strategies CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes PreCINAHL™ as a companion database for subscribers. PreCINAHL provides current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject indexing) that is available to searchers only while these articles are being indexed. This enables users to gain access to article citations that otherwise would not be available. Once the bibliographic records are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed from PreCINAHL.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! This eBook collection provides access to hundreds of titles in cost-efficient technologies, including best business practices. It focuses on renewable energy, clean and novel technologies, green advancements, bio-energy, and other subjects.
Merges two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Offers citation coverage for citation coverage for research journals, major journalism reviews, trade publications and more. Full text is available for over 200 titles.
CountryWatch collects political, economic, corporate, and environmental information for 191 countries. It has two sections: 'Country Reviews,' updated twice a year, are reports which profile the political and economic trends of each country. 'Country Wire' is an online global news service providing current news from major international wire services.
Provides country profiles and reports on political, economic, corporate, and environmental news and trends for 191 countries around the world.
This award-winning weekly magazine provides U.S. legislative news and analysis online. Access and search the full-text of all articles published since 1983. Known as the pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! This e-Library provides access to scientific, technical and medical online reference works, handbooks and e-books for engineering, nutrition, biomedical sciences and many other disciplines.
Current Biography Illustrated, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, offers the content of the printed monthly magazine, Current Biography, in searchable, electronic format. This database provides more than 25,000 articles and obituaries on celebrities, politicians, actors, sports figures, writers, and many others. In addition, Current Biography Illustrated features more than 19,500 images.
DigitalCommons@CalPoly promotes discovery, research, cross-disciplinary collaboration and support for instruction by collecting, preserving and providing access to scholarly, intellectual and creative work generated by Cal Poly faculty and students.
Includes most of the fire insurance maps of California produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to around 1970. The black and white digital images were produced from microform of the Sanborn atlases. Digital collection is searchable by city and date.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
EBL offers content across all subject areas, with a focus on recent titles - most specifically in the areas of Science, Technology and Medicine (STM). EBL features titles from hundreds of academic publishers. Individual titles are listed in PolyCat. These titles are available to all CSU campuses.
EBL offers content across all subject areas, with a focus on recent titles - most specifically in the areas of Science, Technology and Medicine (STM). EBL features titles from hundreds of academic publishers. Individual titles are listed in PolyCat.
Search a keyword or phrase through the full text of the 1,400 online book titles and retrieve relevant titles and sections. The database also provides 3,500 publicly available titles, primarily literary classics. eBook Collection electronic books may be previewed with your browser or checked out for exclusive personal use for a specified period of time. About half the collection consists of single user titles, while the other half is licensed for 4 simultaneous users. If you access a title that is already in use, a message will appear to ask you to try the request later.
Publishes content from university presses and other scholarly publishers. You can create an account to add notes to books, keep a handy "bookshelf", and download books to ebook readers.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, contains references to economic literature. Contains citations, abstracts and full text to economic research dating back to 1969. Contains journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
Education Abstracts, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, indexes and abstracts articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing back to 1983 and abstracts back to 1994. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subjects covered include adult education, continuing education, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and more.
Elsevier Economics and Finance provides fulltext access to more than 80 economics and finance journals. Subject areas include: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Business Economics; Economic Development, Technological Change, and Growth Economic History; Economic Systems; Financial Economics General Economics and Teaching; Health, Education and Welfare; Industrial Organization; International Economics; Labor and Demographic Economics; Law and Economics; Macroeconomic and Monetary Economics; Mathematical and Quantitative Methods; Methodology and History of Economic Thought; Microeconomics; Public Economics; and Urban, Rural and Regional Economics.
This web-based library delivers access to over 130 journals in management, human resources, information management, operations, and training and education. Full-text coverage for most journals begins in the mid-1990s.
A comprehensive online engineering resource providing access to 5 engineering databases: 1.Compendex. The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering literature, containing references to over 5 million citations from 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and reports. 2.Website Abstracts. A database of over 10,000 engineering websites have been selected, reviewed and evaluated based on research value, technical content, and relevant information. 3.U. S. Patent and Trademark Office. An interface to search the U. S. government's full-text patent database. 4.CRC Press Handbooks. Fifteen major engineering, fully searchable handbooks. 5.Industry Specifications and Standards. This database has over 15,000 documents available for download in PDF format.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! This eBook collection includes over 2,310 reference works and handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Information (political, economic, historical, statistical, etc.) on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics can be produced if available.
This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
This database is sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts. For special expertise with the database, contact Dr. Greg Bohr at x62752.
Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
Food and beverage research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
Gale Directory Library will let you cross-search subscribed titles by all the searchable fields that they share in common.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, and standard university reference works covering most subject areas.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index™ is the premier resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design & history. Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index covers a wide range of serial titles including general gardening titles of national, international, and regional interest, and titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups.
This comprehensive geoscience database contains over 2.1 million records in mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Records in the database refer to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, with over 60,000 additions annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GMID Euromonitor provides: Industry data: multi-country relational database of market and category sizes, market shares, distribution patterns, sales forecasts and other measurements relevant to each sector; Country reports: in-depth analysis reports on both developed and emerging national markets; Global reports: assessing the key issues affecting international market performance, with a focus on important developments by product sector and big picture competition strategy; Company profiles: analytical profiles of the top international players across industries, compiled in a standardized format for cross analysis.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. See the FAQ for help setting Library Links to access Cal Poly resources.
The U.S. Government Printing Office disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
This resource includes the full text of several high quality music encyclopedias and provides biographical coverage of 22,000 composers, writers, and performers, as well as information on music terminology and topical essays. Within each article, a navigation bar links (when available) to illustrations, sound, related articles and external links.
Stanford University's site of electronic free journal articles in the sciences (life, physical, and social) and in medicine.
A very comprehensive index to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Provides links to some full-text journals articles, with coverage starting in 1954. Of the 1,700+ journals indexed by this database, some journals may not be available in the databases or be listed in PolyCAT. Use the online InterLibrary Loan service to obtain articles from journals not held by the Kennedy Library.
Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
Hoover's, Inc. delivers comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence that drives business growth. This database covers 12 million companies, with in-depth coverage of 35,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data (demographic, survey, behavioral, housing, etc.). Use of these data requires SPSS, SAS, or similar software.
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature in both journal and e-Book formats. Publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) and other publishers are available through the IEEE Xplore interface.
Thses resources were developed to provide students and faculty easy access to a wide range of business, engineering, management, and technology-related resources available through the Robert E. Kennedy Library.
A virtual library of Internet resources relevant to the university level including databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, et.
INSPEC® is the world's largest bibliographic database in the field of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering and information technology. With more than 7,000,000 abstract records and 330,000 new abstracts, 4,000 journals and 2,000 conference proceedings added each year, the INSPEC® Database remains the most comprehensive source of published reference literature in the world. Each record contains an English-language title and descriptive abstract, together with full bibliographic details which include the journal title, author's name and affiliation and the language of the original document.
Access restricted to current Cal Poly faculty, staff and students. Username and password required for access. Contact the Cal Poly Reference Desk at http://lib.calpoly.edu/ask/
Online service and index for journal content published by the Institute of Physics. Contains more than 250,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Includes links to related articles, references and citations; latest and most popular article listings; and news delivered from IOP's community websites.
Provides sitewide access to quantifiable statistical data, offering a systematic, objective way to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject
Search Serials Solutions to see if specific magazines, journals and newspapers are available full text online in one of the library's subscription databases.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. e-Book content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
just-drinks.com is the beverage industry's leading online resource. They provide a unique blend of up-to-the-minute news, research and analysis. They report and interpret the beverage industry's key events and trends publishing up to 20 major stories, articles and features each working day.
Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code.
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and conference proceedings in the subject areas of librarianship, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage begins in the mid-1960s
Link+ provides a union catalog and user-initiated delivery system for more than 40 university and public library systems in California & Nevada, including: Cal Poly Pomona, Claremont Colleges, CSU Fullerton, CSU Hayward, CSU Long Beach, Hayward Public, Loyola Marymount University, Occidental College, Pleasanton Public, San Diego State University, San Francisco State University, San Jose State University, Santa Clara University, Sonoma State University, Saint Mary's College, UC Riverside, University of La Verne, University of San Francisco, and many others.
This service contains market profile reports, lifestye analysis reports, demographics reports and PRIZM reports. *** This resource is only guaranteed to run in Internet Explorer on Windows operating systems. We apologize for the inconvenience and have requested the vendor to support more diverse platforms.***
Provides articles and images from the Los Angeles Times, 1881-1988. To access the text from more recent issues, search the ProQuest Newsstand database.
MarketResearch.com Academic, formerly Kalorama Academic, offers access to previously unavailable market research reports. This fully searchable and browseable repository offers the complete text of over 500 market research reports on dozens of topics, complete with graphs, tables and charts.
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
The MathSciNet database, covering international mathematics literature, contains signed reviews and bibliographic data from 1940 to the present. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are indexed. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.
MEDLINE is a comprehensive database of information on all aspects of biomedicine and serves as an index to the medical literature.
MedlinePlus is a consumer health database and will direct you to information to help answer health questions. Access to medical journal articles is available as well as extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical
Melvyl represents the union catalog of all of the University of California Libraries. All campuses and materials in the two UC Regional Storage Facilities (NRLF and SRLF) are represented. Users may search here to see if the UC libraries own an item. MELVYL is an excellent supplement to Polycat if materials cannot be found at Cal Poly. If relevant records are found that are not held by the Kennedy Library, request titles through the online Interlibrary Loan service.
Mergent Online is an Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document. International Annual Reports: Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats.
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. To get started, enter your search term or phrase in the search box at the top of the screen and click GO. Selecting Advanced Search will take you to a page where you can target your search to individual volumes or specific types of content. Or, you can use the table of contents at left to navigate to content of interest.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites ... Provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Market research data available on consumer preferences, lifestyle and demographic data. Also includes data on newspaper/magazine subscriptions, TV viewing and other possible media vehicles.
Indexes articles in more than 850 international music periodicals covering all aspects of classical and popular music. Also includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Provides 1) access to NASA generated and sponsored scientific and technical literature dating from 1917 to the present that is available on NASA technical report servers; and 2) selected aerospace literature on non-NASA servers. Includes some fulltext links.
Search and read the full text of over 1,800 books published by the National Academy Press online. Subject coverage includes Agriculture, Behavioral Science, Biology, Computer Science, Chemistry, Earth Science, Education, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Issues, Food & Nutrition, Industry and Economics, Math & Statistics, Materials, Medicine/Public Health, Natural Resources, Physical Sciences, Public Policy, Space Science, Science & Ethics, Transportation, Urban Development.
NSDL was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as a free online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! Streaming music collection for online listening and learning. Vast collection of classical music and other genres, including Jazz, Blues, World, Folk and Chinese music. Also includes select work analyses and resources for teaching/learning about music.
The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 8 volume print edition. In addition, the online Dictionary is a dynamic resource for economists which contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles, features carefully selected and maintained links to related sites, incorporates quarterly additions and updates, and offers search and browse facilities, both full text and advanced.
Provides articles and images from the New York Times, 1851-2008. To access the text from more recent issues, search the ProQuest Newsstand database.
Includes full text from California State Newspapers. Also includes access to AccessUN (some full text), special reports on topics of interest, and a step by step guide to searching the database.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! This eBook collection provides access to hundreds of case studies, clinical trials, and biochemical analyses in nutrition research including sports nutrition and nutrition in health and diseases.
Collection of free but previously difficult-to-access, academically oriented digital resources
The Online Archive of California (OAC) brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.
Provides information on key current social issues and “hot topics” from a number of perspectives. Includes: topic overviews; “viewpoint” articles; primary source documents; profiles of individuals, agencies and interest groups; statistical tables, charts and graphs; and other useful material for debates and argumentation writing assignments.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance, a non-profit foundation, cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. The intellectual focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. The collection has developed continuously since 1948. There are over 10,000 dissertations and theses, with over 200 added each year. Through this website you can access, search, and instantly download the material.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Provides citations to literature written since 1871 on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. The database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Full-text searchable resource for applied plant sciences. Universities, companies, and associations are contributors to the database. Access is available to four peer-reviewed journals – Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Plant Health Progress.
PLoS ONE is an interactive, international, peer-reviewed, open-access online publication for all scientific disciplines. Associated scientific content available at this site include PLoS Biology, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLoS Pathogens, and PLoS Computational Biology. PLoS ONE is published by the Public Library of Science (PLoS), a nonprofit organization.
Online catalog of books, senior projects, journals, newspapers, maps, videos, and other materials held in Cal Poly's Kennedy Library.
Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the humanities, social sciences.
Provides articles and images from the New York Times, 1851-2003, and the Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985. To access the text from more recent issues of these newspapers, search the ProQuest Newsstand database.
ProQuest Newsstand covers nearly 500 U.S. and international newspapers and business journals, with most articles available in full-text.
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
PsycEXTRA can search books and chapters, magazines, newspapers, gray literature (dissertations, technical and annual reports, consumer brochures, etc.) back to 1872. Contains 45,000 records with 30,000 added annually.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal indexing (1887-present) covers articles from over 1,500 international journals written in 35+ languages, with full-text articles provided for 242 journals. Book and book chapter coverage includes worldwide English-language material (1987-present). PsycINFO is produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues. Also provides access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
Provides chemical properties and preparations for inorganic and organic compounds. It is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, physical property, and reaction. This is a combination of retired databases Beilstein (organic reactions, spectra, properties, etc.), Gmelin (inorganic) and Chemistry Patent Database. This database includes a chemical drawing program.
Regional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications including newspapers, newswires and business journals. It is updated daily.
RILM offers broad international coverage base. It includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields.
eStatement Studies features Financial Ratio Benchmarks from RMA member institutions, as well as Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. More than 780 industries are presented using the 2012 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes with data available from the present to 15 years back. User can query a database of 257,000 financial statements. *** Firefox or Google Chrome recommended. Internet Explorer 10 users should set browser mode to Compatibility View. *** Off-campus users must log into their Cal Poly portal and may also need to use the following username and password to log into eStatement Studies for the first time: CSU2/obispo001
The Royal Society is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence, with the first edition of Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, recognized as the first ever peer-reviewed scientific journal, appearing in 1665. This historical archive provides access to over 70,000 scientific papers, with papers published before 1940 freely available. The archive includes Isaac Newton’s first published scientific paper, geological work by a young Charles Darwin, and Benjamin Franklin’s celebrated account of his electrical kite experiment. Cal Poly free access is only to pre-1940 articles.
The SAE Digital Library is a vast repository of authoritative technical content including full text of SAE standards, technical papers and e-books. The Standards portion of the SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE standards. SAE publishes many new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). The Technical papers portion of the SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE Technical Papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Safari Books Online is the premier on-demand digital library providing over 9,800 technology, digital media and business books and videos online. Cal Poly has access to a specially-tailored subset of 3,551 titles from Safari Books Online’s overall content.
SAGE publishes over 460 journals in a variety of disciplines including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Sage Journals Online is the database that provides online access to these publications. To view list of journal titles, at logon screen click on BROWSE.
Covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions.
To search the library holdings and learn about SLO City County Library go to: http://www.slolibrary.org/
Science Citation Index covers 164 scientific disciplines including: Agriculture, Neuroscience Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Oncology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychiatry, Surgery, Veterinary Science, and Zoology. Cited reference searching, a search option unique to ISI-Thompson Scientific databases, searches the reference lists of indexed journal articles.
ENHANCED! THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, matherials science, and agricultural science.
Comprehensive science-specific search engine, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.
Search Serials Solutions to see if specific magazines, journals and newspapers are available full text online in one of the library's subscription databases.
The SLO DataFinder began as a joint project of Cal Poly's Kennedy Library and the San Luis Obispo County Planning Dept. with the purpose of facilitating access and information to GIS datasets. The City of San Luis Obispo is now a partner in this project as well. Browse and download GIS datasets from the City, County, and Cal Poly.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! Provides access to the entire US Census data from 1790 to 2010, the entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2011 and more data from a number of sources. Users can create maps and use data visualization tools and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can also graph and chart data, export, save, and print maps and reports, and create multi-map presentations with an interactive slideshow tool.
This database is sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts. For special expertise with the database, contact Dr. Greg Bohr at x62752.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and r etrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Provides information about journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews that have been written in the fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1979.
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, educaton, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
A funding opportunities database designed to provide up-to-date information on current federal, non-federal, and international funding opportunities. The Cal Poly Grants Development Office offers individual and group training on SPIN as well as assistance with searches.
This database offers comprehensive indexing of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines. Sport Discus includes over 565,000 records, with citations from over 1,200 periodicals (published 1975-present), books and theses (1949-present), conference reports, and videotapes.
ENHANCED! THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! Full-text journal articles and ebooks in the life sciences, biomedicine, engineering, business & economics, architecture, food & nutrition and environmental sciences. Includes more than 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Most journal content includes complete back issues to 1996.
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science & mathematics, etc. are covered.
Comprehensive 25 volume collection of manufacturers of building and other products. 16 volumes list manufacturers by product category. 9 volumes contain excerpts from the actual catalogs.
Treesearch is an online system for locating and delivering publications by Research and Development scientists in the USDA Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by our scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed to ensure the best quality science.
The Telegram-Tribune index allows searching of thousands of articles from 1990 to 2002. The Simple Search interface enables searching by keywords from the title of the article or by proper name. With the Advanced Search interface, limitations can be made by specific subject headings and date ranges.
Materials indexed in the TGIF database include articles from peer reviewed publications, technical reports and conference proceedings, trade and professional publications, local professional newsletters, and popular magazines as well as monographs, theses and dissertations, fact sheets and brochures, software, and web documents. TGIF indexes materials from government, college/university, professional organization, and private publishers. Coverage emphasizes English-language materials but does include coverage of non-English languages.
This database provides statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic tropcs. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.
USA Trade Online delivers U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide (uses HS system).
Searchable catalog providing access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology. Includes links to other sources of topographic and related maps, other earth science databases, and additional Web resources related to geology.
THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! VAST is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource that delivers 20,000 full-length videos in a wide range of disciplines (art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women’s studies) from the BBC, PBS, CBS, and hundreds of other producers. The content features newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Videos are accompanied by transcripts, users can create playlists, video clips and embed links to content in courseware.
Provides a portal to online citation indexing and search services, including Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, CABI Abstracts, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, Inspec, MEDLINE, Zoological record, and Journal Citation Reports. Web of Knowledge provides bibliographic content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. It allows for multiple databases to be searched simultaneously and provides access to more than 20,000 academic and science journals.
The Web of Science is an online citation index which provides access to the Science Citation and Social Sciences Citation Indexes from 1972 to the present. It allows users to search millions of records for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from more than 10,000 journals. Types of literature indexed include: peer reviewed journal articles, original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, and abstracts, as well as other areas. Users can navigate to electronic full-text journal articles from the citations.
Wikipedia has rapidly grown into the largest reference website on the Internet. The content of Wikipedia is free, written collaboratively by people from all around the world. This website is a wiki, which means that anyone with access to an Internet-connected computer can edit, correct, or improve information throughout the encyclopedia, simply by clicking the edit this page link (with a few minor exceptions such as protected articles).
ENHANCED! THANKS TO STUDENT SUCCESS FEE FUNDING! Full-text database of journal and e-book content in business, engineering, medicine, psychology, the sciences, statistics, and other disciplines.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs. The OKR contains research from thousands of works including: World Bank published books, World Development Reports (WDRs), Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP), Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies, and journal articles that have been published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO).
Database of bibliographic records for over 30+ million items held in libraries worldwide. Includes citations for books, dissertations, media, maps, recordings, manuscripts, etc. (12th century-present).
A searchable image database created by various faculty, staff and students of the CSU system. Contains over 50,000 historical images from a wide variety of fields, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Images have been copyright cleared for non-profit educational use by CSU faculty, staff and students.
Zoological Record® is a comprehensive reference database covering all aspects of modern animal research, including: Behavior, Biodiversity, Conservation, Ecology, Evolution, Genetics, Habitat, Morphology, Nomenclature, Parasitology, Physiology, Reproduction, Taxonomy, Zoogeography Sources for Zoological Record include: More than 5,000 serials published in over 100 countries, Monographs (including reports), Books, Newsletters, Conference papers and abstracts